Sustainable Transportation Subcommittee

This Transportation Committee Subcommittee's mission is to gather information on the best practices in sustainable transportation and encourage their use by educating APWA membership. The subcommittee primarily serves the Transportation Committee’s goal to "assist APWA members to acquire and maintain the skills and knowledge necessary to successfully develop and implement sustainable public works infrastructure and deliver transportation services with consideration of social, economic and environmental costs." The APWA Center for Sustainability (C4S) core principles also provide guidance to the subcommittee's efforts.

The Sustainable Transportation Subcommittee is presenting informal webinars in 2019. CEUs: Due to the format these programs are NOT eligible for CEUs. Please contact Rita Cassida at if you wish to attend a webinar. Previous Sustainable Transportation Subcommittee webinars are available in the Members' Library.

Date Subject Moderator Presenters
Friday, December 13, 2019 Autonomous Vehicle 2 – State and Federal Actions Update and What is Public Agency's Role and Where to Start  Mani Rajendran Sam Yaghmaie, PE LEED AP, PM/CM Sr. Manager  |  Kennedy Jenks
M: 206-898-5594

Some of the information that has been developed and presented by the subcommittee can be found under Resources.

Subcommittee Roster

Chair Region of Durham
Mr. Manivannan Rajendran, P Eng Whitby, ON
Project Manager, Works Department Full contact info

Chair Harris & Associates
Mr. Sam Yaghmaie, LEED AP, PE Seattle, WA
Senior Director Full contact info

Member City of Bellingham
Mr. Freeman Anthony, PE Bellingham, WA
Project Engineer Full contact info

Member HW Lochner, Inc
Mr. Gary F. Demich Olympia, WA
National Director of Sustainability Full contact info

Member Transportation Agcy for Monterey Co
Ms. Debbie .. Hale Salinas, CA
Executive Director Full contact info

Alexander Harrison
Field Engineer Full contact info

Member LJB Inc
Mr. Daniel J. Hoying, PE, PMP, PS Miamisburg, OH
Principal Full contact info

Member University of Wisconsin - Madison
Mr. Benjamin J. Jordan, PE Madison, WI
Program Director Full contact info

Member City of Tacoma
Jessica D. Knickerbocker Tacoma, WA
Engineering Manager Full contact info

Member City of Frisco
Mr. Paul Knippel, PE Frisco, TX
Director of Engineering Full contact info

Member Town of Natick
Mr. Jeremy T. Marsette, PE Natick, MA
Director of Public Works Full contact info

Member Washtenaw County, MI
Mr. Evan N. Pratt, PE Ann Arbor, MI
Water Resources Commissioner Full contact info

Member SCJ Alliance
Ms. Lisa M. Reid, ENV SP, PE, PMP Kenmore, WA
Engineering Manager Full contact info

Member City of El Segundo
Mr. Orlando Rodriguez, Jr El Segundo, CA
Senior Civil Engineer Full contact info

Member MIG Inc
Ms. Peg R. Staeheli, ASLA, LEED AP Seattle, WA

Member NCE
Mr. Thomas J. Van Dam Las Vegas, NV
Principal Full contact info